

The Royal College of Radiologists Minutes of the forty-second Annual General Meeting of The Royal College of Radiologists held in Hall 1A, The ACC, Kings Dock, Liverpool L3 4FP at 12.05 pm on 12 September 2017

The President, Dr Nicola Strickland was in the Chair. A quorum was present.

Notice of the meeting had been posted on the RCR website on 21 June 2017 and subsequently circulated to all Fellows and members of the College. The <u>Annual Review</u> 2016–17 had been made available on the College website.

The President welcomed everyone to the meeting.

1. Minutes of the 2016 Annual General Meeting

The minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 14 September 2016 as published on the website and with the agenda for the meeting were **approved** and signed by the President as a correct record.

2. Amendments to the By-Laws and Regulations

An ordinary Resolution that involved changes to Regulation 9 and Regulation 22 was set out in the agenda. The notes set out in Annex B explained the reasoning behind the proposed amendments. The change to Regulation 9 would allow the AGM to be adjourned until a fixed date, proposed as 1 September, which would facilitate moving the Annual General Meeting to be held during the national, annual, education meeting of Radiology and Oncology Congresses (ROC) from 2019. The College was due to participate in the ROC meeting from that year.

The proposed change to Regulation 22 would reduce the "fallow" period, which prevented a Fellow from immediately re-standing for either the same post, or a post on the same RCR Board/Committee, from three years to one year.

There was a concern raised from the floor regarding the change to Regulation 22: It was suggested that the reduced "fallow" period could allow a Fellow to "hold onto" a post, and could deter others from standing.

Two other Fellows raised the point that given posts were for three-year terms, it would only apply if someone who had been elected to a post stood down early for health or personal reasons. It was confirmed that the revised provision would also apply if someone stepping down from a Council post, or other RCR Board or Committee applied for another vacancy that happened to arise on Council or on the same Board or Committee in the relevant Faculty.

The proposed amendments to the two Regulations were voted on separately.

The amendments to Regulation 9 were **passed** by a majority show of hands.

The amendments to Regulation 22 were **passed** by a majority show of hands, and one vote against was recorded.

3. Report of the trustees

The report of the trustees, including the report on the activities of the College and of the Faculties of Clinical Oncology and Clinical Radiology which were included within the *Annual Review 2016-2017*, were taken as read and **received** by the meeting.

The President advised the meeting that the retiring Officers were Dr R FitzGerald, Vice-President, Clinical Radiology, Dr J J A McAleer, Medical Director, Education and Training, Clinical Oncology, and Dr M S M Alexander, Treasurer. Also retiring as clinical radiology representatives on Council were: Dr A M Beale and Professor M P Callaway.

The President thanked all those retiring from office and from boards and committees without whose time and energy the College would be unable to achieve its objectives.

4. Report of the Treasurer and audited accounts

The Treasurer presented his report to the meeting including information on income and expenditure for the financial year to 31 December 2016 as set out within the *Annual Review 2016-17*.

The Treasurer's report was **adopted** by the meeting.

The Treasurer invited the meeting to agree that Council should set the subscription rates for the 2018–19 subscription year in accordance with the anticipated budgetary needs of the College. This was **agreed**.

5. Auditors

On the recommendation of the Treasurer, Crowe Clark Whitehill were **re-elected** College auditors for the coming year. The meeting **agreed** to invite Council to agree arrangements to set the auditors' remuneration for the period.

6. Election of Honorary Officers, members of the Council and members of the Boards of the Faculties

The results of the election of Honorary Officers and of the election of members of the Council and of the Boards of the Faculties had previously been notified to members and Fellows. The meeting noted that the following would serve for the ensuing year: -

President	Dr N H Strickland
Treasurer-Medical Director, Membership and Business	Dr A M Beale
Vice President, Faculty of Clinical Oncology	Dr J Dickson
Vice President, Faculty of Clinical Radiology	Dr C M E Rubin
Medical Director, Education and Training, Clinical Oncology	Dr F A P Yuille
Medical Director, Education and Training, Clinical Radiology	Dr W H Ramsden
Medical Director, Professional Practice, Clinical Oncology	Dr D J Bloomfield
Medical Director, Professional Practice, Clinical Radiology	Dr F A Smethurst

Newly elected to Council representing Clinical Radiology was Dr S P D'Souza. Dr R H Thomas had been appointed to fill a casual vacancy until September 2018.

Newly elected to the Board of Faculty of Clinical Oncology was Dr S Khanduri. Dr A Sibtain and Dr J Gildersleve had been appointed to fill casual vacancies until September 2018.

Newly elected to the Board of the Faculty of Clinical Radiology were: Professor M P Callaway, Professor A G Rockall and Dr G J A Stenhouse.

Council had elected certain College Officers from among the Faculty Officers on 14 July 2017, as follows: -

Vice-Presidents – Dr J Dickson and Dr C M E Rubin Warden of the Fellowship – Dr W H Ramsden Registrar of the College – Dr D J Bloomfield

7. Retiring Officers

The President presented a Past Officer's badge to the retiring Vice-President, Clinical Radiology, Dr R FitzGerald, and congratulated Dr C M E Rubin upon her election as Dr FitzGerald's successor.

The President then presented a past Officer's badge to the retiring Medical Director, Education and Training, Clinical Oncology, Dr J J A McAleer, and congratulated Dr F A P Yuille upon her election as Dr McAleer's successor.

The President then presented a Past Officer's badge to the retiring Treasurer, Dr M S M Alexander, and congratulated Dr A M Beale upon his appointment as Dr Alexander's successor, in the re-titled role of Medical Director, Membership and Business.

8. Annual General Meeting 2018

The President announced that the 2018 Annual General Meeting would be held during *RCR18* in Liverpool, on Tuesday 11 September 2018. The time would be announced subsequently.

There being no other business, The President declared the meeting closed at 12.26pm.